Of childbirth

November 2, 2004 at 9:40 pm 1 comment

The cast of Finding Neverland was on Oprah today. Kate Winslet said that she felt guilty when she had her first child by Caesarian Section. She was not a petite woman and she thought that she had good child-bearing hips. After 37 hours of labor, she had to have her baby by C-Section.

I had similar feelings. I felt that I had an incomplete experience in childbirth since I didn’t get to push my babies out. I was in labor for over 20 hours with both my 2 oldest sons but I wasn’t dilating progressively. I had C-Sections with both of them. When I got pregnant with my 3rd baby, my gynecologist suggested that I should elect surgery. I even questioned her suggestion. She threw a question back at me, “With your history, are you really willing to go through long hours of labor and then have surgery at the end anyway?” So I elected to have C-Section with my 3rd baby.

Entry filed under: My life as a mom. Tags: .

Growing pains What’s holding you back?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. The Birth of Our Baby « n i c e h e a r t  |  July 6, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    […] big day came. I was scheduled to deliver by C-Section on February 11, 1998. Donning a blue hospital gown with matching hospital cap and shoes, Ronald […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!


