I just realized . . .

July 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm 1 comment

“Mommy, I have a headache. Can you call the school?” That was my 13-year old son on Monday morning. “Ay naku, Ryland,” I said, “there’s only 4 days of school left. You go take a shower now and I’ll give you Tylenol.” So he went to school, without the Tylenol. He was fine. He didn’t really have a headache.

This school year, he had quite a few absences. I kinda had a feeling that sometimes he just didn’t want to go to school and he’d tell me that he wasn’t feeling well. I had been lenient with him and his brothers because I know that it has not been an easy year for them. And I also feel guilty for putting them through these hard times because of the separation with their dad. Although I know I shouldn’t feel guilty because they know the reason why I did it, and they know that it’s all for the best. One other reason I feel guilty is not being at home as much as I want to because I have these two jobs. But I try to be there as much as I can. And I know they understand that I’m doing this for them.

That night at the dinner table, I told Ryland, “You know what, I just realized that you were probably not really sick those days that you would tell me that you were.” Then my 17-year old blurted out, “I already knew that. I was laughing in my bed when I heard him this morning.” Yeah right. Because this one had quite a few absences too. Ah these boys. They got me fooled. “Oh you guys. This can’t go on. Things are gonna change next year!”

Entry filed under: My guilt trip, My Sweet Ryland, Raising the 3Rs, Single Mom, Working mom. Tags: .

It’s a good day! Me and my boys

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tndcallphilippines  |  October 3, 2011 at 2:06 am

    Its great that they easily admitted and that you’re in good communication with your children. Separation can be hard on the kids.. parents should really make efforts to keep those doors of communication open during these times…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 2 weeks ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 3 weeks ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 8 months ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

