It’s a good day!

June 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm 4 comments

Today’s a good day. I just bought a house! Today. Exactly a year to the date the boys and I moved out of the house they grew up in. Exactly a year to the date we moved in to this two-bedroom apartment suite that we have called home this past year.

I’m so excited! We don’t move until August, but it’s pretty exciting! And emotional too. But emotionally happy, not sad. I’ve been separated for a year now, but I have pretty much moved on.

It’s been a good day. The boys and I went out to lunch with my mother today to celebrate my middle son’s 17th birthday, which is tomorrow. We went to Red Lobster. I knew my middle son had wanted to go there for the longest time.

It’s a bad day, I heard my youngest son said. He wanted to go to Pizza Hut instead. Although I’m pretty sure that he enjoyed the hand-breaded shrimp that he ordered at Red Lobster.

Why would you say it’s a bad day? I asked. It’s a good day. We just bought a house. I think I know why he thought it’s a bad day. It’s father’s day and he and his brothers didn’t spend it with their dad. The topic at mass this morning was about fathers and father’s day and it must have upset them somehow. He hasn’t been much a part of their lives since the separation. I actually wanted him to try to have relationship with his boys, but it’s not up to me now.

But see, these three had been laughing a lot today, joking around. After a year, they have pretty much adjusted to our situation and I think they have also moved on. So, I think, overall, it’s been a pretty good day. I just bought a house!
I had been getting quite frustrated with this house hunting. I have looked at several houses. A few didn’t look as good as they looked on paper. There were about two that I wanted to buy, but I got outbid. Oh, I hate these bidding wars. But today, I was the one who had the highest bid. :) It’s a good day!

Entry filed under: House Hunting, Single Mom. Tags: .

Best of times, worst of times I just realized . . .

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Daphne  |  June 20, 2011 at 1:39 am

    Wow congratulations on your new house! So glad to read that you are moving on. =)

    Reply
  • 2. JO  |  June 30, 2011 at 12:07 am

    Congratulations!!!!

    Reply
  • 3. niceheart  |  July 3, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Thanks you guys. Pasensya na di na ko makapag-blog hop.

    Reply
  • 4. Toe  |  July 4, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Congratulations Niceheart! And good luck.. I’m sure you’ll have more good days and years ahead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 1 month ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 1 month ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 9 months ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

