Niceheart’s Chicken Alexander

April 12, 2009 at 2:12 pm Leave a comment

chicken-alexander

I learned how to prepare Chicken Alexander from my girl friend Elaine. It was one of the dishes she served at Maddy’s first birthday celebration and I loved it. This past Christmas, I thought I’d try to cook it and I asked her for a recipe. She gave me the ingredients and the order in which to cook them. Then I also googled “Chicken Alexander recipes,” printed them and showed them to her and asked which one is closer to her recipe. She was shaking her head when I showed her my prints. Well, I’m not very proficient in the kitchen and I need numbers, like amounts and oven temperatures and length of time. :)

So this is the version I came up with. Niceheart’s variation means a lot of shortcuts and cheaper alternatives. :) This is also what I served my family this Easter Sunday.

Ingredients:

1 clove of garlic, crushed and chopped

1/2 of a medium sized onion, chopped

.70 kg or 4 pieces of chicken breast, already boiled, diced or hinimay

1/2 kilo of No Name frozen mixed vegetables (includes carrots, peas, whole kernel corn, green beans and lima beans)

1 can of No Name Cream of Chicken condensed soup, 284 ml (Elaine recommends Campbells brand)

a pinch of salt and pepper

No Name mashed potato flakes – plain flavour , 215 grams, includes 2 pouches

100 grams of mild cheddar cheese, grated (Elaine recommends using marble cheese or two kinds of cheeses for variety in colour)

Saute garlic and onion. Put diced chicken and stir. Add frozen vegetables and continue stirring. (I let the frozen vegetables sit on the kitchen counter for about half an hour before cooking.) Blend in the cream of chicken soup, stirring until the sauce thickens. Season with salt and pepper.

If you want to stop there, that’s actually already a dish called Chicken A La King. But we’re preparing Chicken Alexander today, so put this mixture in a baking dish. Then take the Mashed Potato box and follow the instructions on the box. We will be using the 2 pouches in the box so just double up on the ingredients. It’s just basically boiling water, milk and margarine and adding the potato flakes and stirring until the mixture is smooth. You then layer the mashed potato on top of the Chicken A La King. Put grated cheese on top. Bake in oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Instead of just Plain mashed potato, I used Butter and Herb Flavour this time. It also worked. It added more flavour to the dish.

chicken-alexander-2

Entry filed under: Food, Special Occasions. Tags: , , , .

My mommy guilt trips ‘He-cession’ affecting husband and wife roles

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 4 months ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 4 months ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 1 year ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

