New Moon

November 30, 2008 at 2:36 pm 9 comments

new moon

Warning: Spoilers Alert

As I lay there, I had a feeling that more time was passing than I realized. I couldn’t remember how long it had been since nightfall. Was it always so dark here at night? Surely, as a rule, some little bit of moonlight would filter down through the clouds, through the chinks in the canopy of trees, and find the ground.

Not tonight. Tonight the sky was utterly black. Perhaps there was no moon tonight – a lunar eclipse, a new moon.

A new moon. I shivered, though I wasn’t cold.

It was black for a long time before I heard them calling.

(Page 74)

That was Bella lying in the forest after Edward said goodbye and left her. Yes, he did. At the beginning of New Moon, the second book in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer.

Edward thought that Bella wasn’t safe as long as she was with him. Besides, Bella wanted to become a vampire too, but Edward was strongly opposed to it. He didn’t want her to give up her human life.

But Edward’s leaving hit Bella really hard. She felt depressed. On the first week, she wouldn’t eat or move. The town doctor described her as catatonic. Even the weeks following that, she wouldn’t talk to Charlie unless he asked her something. She wouldn’t go out with her friends. Let me just say here that I like how Ms. Meyer followed up the third chapter titled, The End, with four pages that just had the words October, November, December, and January. My first reaction was, “what a waste of four pages.” But I went back on that right away and I thought it was brilliant. It sent the message across very strongly.

After four months, Bella sort of woke up after Charlie threatened to send her home to her mother. She didn’t want to leave Forks and everything that would remind her of Edward. Edward might be physically gone but she wanted to hold on to his memories.

So she started to hang out with her friends again, including Jacob Black. She spent a lot of time with him while he worked on the motorcycles that she found and she asked him to teach her how to ride hers. They got pretty close and Jacob started having feelings for her. But she was very straightforward with him. She only liked him as a friend. Nothing more. Jacob was willing to accept that. He just wanted to be with her.

I was just talking to my girl friend about why we think we both got hooked to this Twilight series. She said for her, it was about the “kilig” moments in the story. Like for instance, when Edward would sneak in Bella’s bedroom at night while she was asleep. It’s like “somebody’s watching over me.” As for me, it was about how Ms. Meyer talks about Bella’s feelings. There’s a lot of that in the books. You see, I also tend to explore a lot about my feelings. Ache che. :) Like for instance, the pain that she felt upon Edward’s absence, that hole in her chest. Even Jacob would notice how she’d put her arms around her chest every time Edward’s name was mentioned. There was also a time when I felt that same hole in mine and I would also clutch my chest.

But in the end, we find out that Edward was also in pain when he left Bella. And when he thought that she died, he also wanted to die. But Bella came to rescue him.

Sounds familiar huh? Yes, there were a few references in the story about Romeo and Juliet, which I will discuss later.

I’ve mentioned earlier that Bella also wanted to become a vampire. Could someone really love another that much? To be willing to give up their human life just so they could be with the love of their life forever? Because I ask myself if I would be willing to do that. No way. Why? Could it be because my love is not that strong? But then again, how can I compare my life and my love? This is only fiction for goodness sakes. :)

“Before you, Bella, my life was like a moonless night. Very dark, but there were stars – points of light and reason.…And then you shot across my sky like a meteor. Suddenly everything was on fire; there was brilliancy, there was beauty. When you were gone, when the meteor had falled over the horizon, everything went black. Nothing had changed, but my eyes were blinded by the light. I couldn’t see the stars anymore. And there was no more reason for anything.”

I wanted to believe him. But this was my life without him that he was describing, not the other way around. (Page 514)

To be continued…

Entry filed under: Books, movies, music, TV, The Twilight Saga. Tags: , , .

Lance and Lacey’s Mambo Romeo and his fair Juliet, and Paris, too

9 Comments Add your own

  • […] 30, 2008 in Books, movies, music, TV | Tags: New Moon, Romeo and Juliet As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, there were a few references to Romeo and Juliet in the second book in the Twilight series, New […]

    Reply
  • 2. julie  |  December 6, 2008 at 12:29 am

    I love the series (except the last book)

    My family and I (including 5 and 7yo kids) watched the movie together. My daughter read the book too.

    Reply
  • 3. niceheart  |  December 7, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I just finished Eclipse and I love it! I am reading the last book now. So you didn’t like that one huh?

    Reply
  • 4. Eclipse « n i c e h e a r t  |  December 7, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    […] help but notice the typographical errors. My girl friend has noticed this, too. In Twilight and New Moon, I noticed only a couple of typos in each of the books, but in Eclipse, I noticed quite a few. Who […]

    Reply
  • 5. Kyels  |  December 12, 2008 at 2:35 am

    A lot of people seem to be engrossed with Stephenie Meyer … Maybe I ought to try her books out and see if I like them or not …

    ;D

    Reply
  • […] might be asking, why am I defending Bella, when I have mentioned in my New Moon post, that unlike Bella, I would not be willing to give up my human life just so I could be with […]

    Reply
  • 7. New Moon: My Movie Review « n i c e h e a r t  |  November 24, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    […] Read my New Moon Book Review here. […]

    Reply
  • 8. Vampire store  |  August 22, 2010 at 5:06 am

    I’ve read all of the books, and in all honesty I prefer them to the films that have been released so far.

    Reply
  • 9. terra nova season 2  |  October 15, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    terra nova season 2

    New Moon | Journey to Honeyville

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 5 months ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 5 months ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 1 year ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

