Bahaw at Tutong – My first Tagalog post

December 7, 2006 at 7:06 pm 37 comments

burnt toastEarlier this year, I watched Teri Hatcher (Susan Mayer from Desperate Housewives) in interviews when she was promoting her book titled, Burnt Toast and Other Philosophies of Life.  She said, and this explains the title of the book, “I watched my mother eat the burnt toast.  I watched her take what is the last, the worst, self-sacrificing up to a bad point.” 

And I was like, “Oh my gosh, I am like that.  I don’t eat burnt toast but I do eat the burnt fried chicken, the burnt cookie and most usually, the left-over rice (bahaw) and sometimes the crust (tutong) at the bottom of the pot.  And this is what I wrote about in our current topic at Pinoyatbp., “Sana Meron Pang….” 

Bahaw at Tutong is a special post because not only is this one of “My Life as a Mom” posts, but it’s also the very first Tagalog post I have written.  When Patrice informed me that our first topic was “Sana Meron Pang…,” I knew this was what I wanted to write about and it has got to be in Tagalog.  I have been here in Canada for 17 years now.  Not that I don’t speak my native language anymore.  I can still converse in fluent Tagalog.  But I hear people talk and I converse in English everyday and also most of what I read is in English.  So my written Tagalog tends to be rusty. 

I didn’t think I could pull it off.  But I started writing my post in Tagalog and the words just kept flowing.  Although I struggled a little bit with some of the words. 

Listen to this conversation I had with my sister on the phone:

Me:  Lina, di ba meron kang makapal na Tagalog-English dictionary?  Pakitingin mo naman kung ano ang translation ng deprive.

Sis:  Ah teka.  (Kinuha ang diksiyunaryo) Eto deprive, agawin.

Me:  Agawin ba?  Hindi yata ukma.  Paano mo ba ita-translate yung “Ayaw kong I-deprive ang sarili ko ng masasarap na bagay?”  Tama ba yung “Ayaw kong ipagka-ila sa sarili ko?”

Sis:  Ipagkaila?  Hindi yata tama iyon.

Me:  Oo nga, hindi nga yata tama. 

The following night, she called me back:

Sis:  Ate, ipag-kait ang translation ng deprive.

Me:  Ay oo nga ano?  Saan mo nakita?

Sis:  Wala, basta naisip ko lang.

Me:  Ipag-kait nga pala.  Pero hindi bale na.  Nai-submit ko na yung sinulat ko eh.

Sis:  Ano’ng inilagay mo?

Me:  Eh di i-deprive.  (Natawa sa sarili.)  He he he. 

My post, Bahaw at Tutong, is now up at Pinoyatbp.

February 24, 2008 update: You can now view this article here. 

pinoyatbp 

For those who don’t understand Tagalog, you can read an excerpt of Burnt Toast and Other Philosophies of Life at www.myburnttoast.com.

Entry filed under: My life as a mom, Pinoyatbp.. Tags: .

Don’t TOUCH Me Bahaw at Tutong

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ferdz  |  December 7, 2006 at 10:50 pm

    Hahaha! Nakakatuwa naman! Ganyan din ako minsan, ang hirap talaga i translate yung ibang english sa tagalog words.

    Reply
  • 2. ipanema  |  December 7, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    lol. Ako I eat tutong. lalo na yung tutong ng sinangag at biko. :)

    Reply
  • 3. Kyels  |  December 7, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    I heard people using basta before … What does it mean actually, is it a word to express something serious?

    (:

    Reply
  • 4. Cai  |  December 7, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    I understand what you’re saying. I left the Phils after 4th Grade. While I can speak Tagalog, I can’t really write it – don’t know about the grammar etc. The few times I speak Tagalog, it’s usually Taglish anyway.

    Reply
  • 5. Leah  |  December 8, 2006 at 12:01 am

    Ako hindi mahilig sa bahaw (ngayon ko nga lang narinig yan tagalog na salita na yan eh).

    btw, I read your post sa ATBP…you did WELL.

    May tagalog dictionary link ako dun sa blog ko, hinanap ko translation ng deprive, walang result. Yun ipagkait ang transaltion sa tagalog eh deny

    Reply
  • 6. haze  |  December 8, 2006 at 3:37 am

    Bago ko ilahad ang aking puna sumagi ako saglit sa Pinoy atbp. upang basahin ang iyong inilathala. Binabati kita ng lubos at napakaganda ng iyong pagkakasulat :) ! Mahirap talaga hanapin ang salitang tagalog kaya minsan makalimutan man natin sa ingles na lang natin idinadaan. Ako nga 5 taon pa lang sa pransya may mga salita na rin akong nakakalimutan sa kagustuhan kong matuto ng pranse na kung minsan nakakalimutan ko na rin ang ingles !

    Tama ang pagsalin (translate) ng salitang deprived sa ipagkait ngunit maari mo ring sabihin ang “huwag pigilan ang iyong sarili sa mga …….” kasi pinaka simpleng pagsalin ang ipagkait ay napakalalim na salita. Maari kang tumungo sa pook (site ) na ito http://www.bohol.ph/diksyunaryo.php?sw=deprive&lang=English&search=Search

    Hi Leah ang totoong pagsalin ng salitang deny sa tagalog ay ang mga sumusunod pinagpabulaanan, ipinagkaila o pagtanggi :) . Maligayang pagsusulat Niceheart ;) ! Isulong ang salitang tagalog !!!

    Reply
  • 7. niceheart  |  December 8, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    Hi Ferdz, see, hindi lang pala ako. :)

    Ipanema, ikaw pala mahilig sa tutong ha. My oldest son also likes toast that’s dark.

    Reply
  • 8. niceheart  |  December 8, 2006 at 10:48 pm

    Kyels, basta is actually Spanish and it means enough. I don’t think it has an exact translation in Tagalog. When my sister said, Basta naisip ko lang. Literally translated = I just thought of it. I think we use it to suggest, “that’s all I have to say.” I just thought of it period. Like when lovers say, basta mahal kita. I love you just because. I don’t need to explain. Don’t ask any more questions. So just like what it means in Spanish=enough. I don’t know if I’m making any sense.

    Help! Anybody? Feel free to jump in here. :)

    Reply
  • 9. niceheart  |  December 8, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    Cai, it’s good that you still speak Tagalog. My 18-year-old niece first came here when she was four years old. She still picks up what we’re talking about but can’t speak it anymore.

    Leah, I guess we all have different preferences. About my post at pinoyatbp., thanks. :)

    Reply
  • 10. niceheart  |  December 8, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    Haze, thanks for the link. Hanga nga ako sa inyong mga nakakapagpost sa Tagalog. Katulad din ni Toe, Manilenya, Ann at si Bing din. Sa pagbabasa ng mga post nyo, nagiging familiar na uli sa akin. Saka nagkaroon na rin ako ng practice dahil din sa mga comments ko sa mga blogs nyo na tina-Tagalog ko rin.

    And thanks for the compliments on my Tagalog post. :)

    Reply
  • 11. ann  |  December 8, 2006 at 11:54 pm

    Ako nga sanay na sa tagalog pero pag may tinatanong mga kids ko na tagalog word medyo nag-iisip pa rin , minsan kasi yung meaning nya ay depende sa pagkakagamit sa sentence.

    Reply
  • 12. iskoo  |  December 9, 2006 at 1:32 am

    kahit sa pilipinas hindi na ata maiaalis ang salitang ingles sa isang sentence… ano nga ba sentence sa tagalog?? hehehe.

    ako naman hirap mag post sa ingles kaya nagsasanay, daming maling grammar, pero ganun talaga. darating yung time na kapag binalikan ko archive ko makikita ko sana may imporvement :)

    Reply
  • 13. tin  |  December 9, 2006 at 5:15 am

    ako naman, baliktad. So hard to translate tagalog to english words. :D

    Reply
  • 14. pining  |  December 9, 2006 at 9:24 am

    hi niceheart! I certainly agree with you all.. quite hard to translate some tagalog words to english. I’ve got a question for you though; when you’re wrapped up in your own thoughts, do you think in english or tagalog?

    Reply
  • 15. niceheart  |  December 9, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    Ann, ganyan din ako. Minsan may ipinapatranslate din ang mga anak ko na salita. Itatanong ko muna kung ano yung sentence. :)

    Iskoo, ang tagal kong pinag-isipan. Kamot sa ulo. Pangungusap ang tagalog sa sentence, di ba? Nung bago pa rin lang ako nagpo-post, marami din akong nakitang mali sa mga grammar ko pero ine-edit ko na lang. Nung naglaon, umayos na rin.

    Reply
  • 16. niceheart  |  December 9, 2006 at 10:00 pm

    Tin, nung bagong dating ako dito, ganyan din ako. Minsan nga kapag may nagtatanong sa akin na puti, medyo natatagalan akong sumagot dahil tina-translate ko muna sa utak ko yung isasagot ko. :) Pero nung nagtagal, nasanay na rin. Bumilis na rin ang sagot ko.

    Pining, good question. You made me think. When I’m wrapped up in my own thoughts, I see visual images. But if I’m thinking of what to write in a post, I would say I form the words in my mind in English. But you know what? I kept a journal (diary) for a while. Itinigil ko na kasi napansin ko paulit-ulit lang ang aking kadramahan. :) I filled about 2 1/2 notebooks of my thoughts. And I usually wrote in English. Pero meron ding nasingit na tagalog. But the more I think about your question, I think I do think in tagalog more than in English.

    Reply
  • 17. iskoo  |  December 9, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    nalala ko bigla noong bata pa kami dahil sa sobrang kahirapan, kapag maghahanda na ng pagkain, sinasabi sa amin na pampatalino ang tutong, kaya nag-uunahan kami noon sa tutong…

    Reply
  • 18. bingskee  |  December 10, 2006 at 12:24 am

    very normal for someone who’d been away for quite a time. e kami ngang narito e naghahagilap din ng tamang salitang Filipino sa mga salitang Ingles. Tama nga yata na sabihing mahirap ang wikang Filipino..

    Reply
  • 19. abaniko  |  December 10, 2006 at 2:12 am

    What about this:

    “Ayokong pagkaitan ang aking sarili ng masasarap na pagkain.”

    But don’t mind me so much. I’m just a Bisaya trying hard to write in Tagalog. Hehe.

    Reply
  • 20. Wil  |  December 10, 2006 at 2:43 pm

    haha. That’s Taglish, di ba? hehe. My tagalog isn’t that great, but I can get by. When I see all-Tagalog blogs, however, I usually skip them b/c it’ll take me a while to figure out what they’re saying. I’m a slow TAgalog reader. I understood your post though. :D

    Reply
  • 21. KD  |  December 10, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    Nice post.
    Buti na lang at mga kids eh di ako tinatanong sa spanish…hehehe

    Reply
  • 22. niceheart  |  December 10, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    Pampatalino? Magandang trick yon, iskoo. :)

    Bing, naalala ko naman yung sabi nung Pilipino teacher namin nuon. Very rich daw ang ating language dahil maraming translation ang bawat salita. Katulad ng salitang “carry.” Hindi lang isa ang translation. Pwede mong gamitin ang buhatin, kargahin, pasanin, dalahin, etc.

    Reply
  • 23. niceheart  |  December 10, 2006 at 11:19 pm

    That’s a good translation, abaniko. :) And a good start in writing in Tagalog. :)

    Yes, Wil. That is Taglish. I’m glad you understood my post. :)

    Thank you KD. Patawa ka rin ano? :)

    Reply
  • 24. Shoshana  |  December 12, 2006 at 12:05 am

    I have forgotten about warming left-over rice over new one. I haven’t done that in over 14 years. My husband has a thing about left-over. So, either the rice was always warm, or it goes to trash. It pains me so much to throw away so much rice.

    I finally spent a lot of money over this Japanesse rice cooker…Zurozuki? I don’t have it handy, it’s on the other end of the house…

    It keeps my rice fress for a week. I kid you not. No mushy part, no hard part, just perfect rice all over.

    By the 4th day, it’s all consume, and we don’t have to worry about throwing away rice.

    I know this is not the whole point of your post Irene…

    I have to say, you write in Tagalog well.

    Reply
  • 25. kathy  |  December 12, 2006 at 5:26 am

    Hi again. I just want you to know that we’ve syndicated your blog at http://www.philippinestoday.net . I hope this is alright. Happy posting! :)

    Reply
  • 26. niceheart  |  December 12, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    Thanks for the compliments, Shoshana. :) Haven’t heard of that Japanese rice cooker. That’s good then if it keeps rice fresh up to 4 days. At least you don’t waste any.

    Hello again, Kathy. Oh thank you so much for noticing my blog. Sure, no problem. :)

    Reply
  • 27. Gypsy  |  December 13, 2006 at 4:12 am

    This reminds me of mom, too. I remember that she would give us what’s the best and settle for what’s left. Ipinagkait niya ang sarili niya para sa kapakanan ng mga anak niya. :) To the point where she has actually developed a real liking for tutong–and uses a kaldero to cook rice instead of our atumonatic rice cooker..para magka-tutong.:)

    Reply
  • 28. cruise  |  December 13, 2006 at 6:16 am

    nakakatawag pansin ang unang topic mo “tutong at bahaw” pinoy na pinoy. pero kahit usong uso na ang rice cooker na halos walang tutong at di lumalamig ang kanin di ko pa rin makakalimutab kung ano ang ibig sabihin ng totung at bahaw, hehe

    Reply
  • 29. ralphT  |  December 13, 2006 at 7:24 am

    now that i’m back blogging, i converted my tabulas blog to a tagalog blog. english posts are now at my other site ;)

    Reply
  • 30. niceheart  |  December 13, 2006 at 11:20 pm

    Gypsy, okay pala ang mom mo. Nagustuhan pa tuloy ang tutong. But kidding aside, I think most moms are like this.

    Cruise, mahirap talagang makalimutan ang mga kinalakihan natin. :)

    RalphT, welcome back. Didn’t know you have another site.

    Reply
  • 31. Toe  |  December 14, 2006 at 3:50 am

    Niceheart, don’t worry, the modern way is really to use Taglish. Klasrum is acceptable instead of silid-aralan. Konstitutsyon instead of saligang-batas. That’s why our language is now called Filipino, instead of Tagalog because it’s a combination of Tagalog, English, Spanish and our other dialects. So i-deprive is actually acceptable.

    Reply
  • 32. eric  |  December 14, 2006 at 6:54 am

    Ako din ganyan kadalasan mag-Tagalog. Kung hindi ko naman tatagalogin ang ingles nabubulol na ako. Hirap nga kung minsan.

    Reply
  • 33. ralph  |  December 15, 2006 at 12:58 am

    yea… am just not fond of advertising my blogs… i want to be ‘anonymous’ as much as possible ;)

    Reply
  • 34. niceheart  |  December 17, 2006 at 12:21 am

    Thank you, Toe, on that update about our language.

    Eric, pareho pala tayo. :)

    Ralph, I also have another blog, where I post semi-anonymously. :)

    Reply
  • 35. fyuzeboxx  |  January 29, 2007 at 1:20 am

    Di ba sabi ng lahat ng mga English teachers dito sa Pilipinas “If you speak English, think English!” Para sa akin ganun din ang pagsasalin ng salitang inggles sa Pilipino… Kumbaga hindi mo kailangan na isalin ang buong pangugusap (tagalog ng sentence sa mga nakalimot na) sa literal na kahulugan nito… Katulad nung “Ayaw kong i-deprive ang sarili ko sa masasarap na pagkain” pwede namang sabihing “Ayaw kong MAGPAKAGUTOM!”

    Mahirap nga kung tutuusin na magsalin ng mga salitang inggles sa pilipino… Pero siguro nga dala na rin niyan ng kultura na iyong nakagisnan na…

    Reply
  • 36. lhendita  |  May 4, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    hy naku sobrang hirap nman nito..ang dami ko ng pinatanungan pero hindi nila alm kun anong inglesh s tutong..plz pakihanap nman..

    Reply
  • 37. niceheart  |  May 6, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Hi lhendita. The only word I could think of is crust.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 3 months ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 4 months ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 11 months ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

