n i c e h e a r t

Kitchens are not built for short people

Originally posted on Tuesday, May 2, 2006

Martha Stewart had the lovely Kristin Chenoweth (co-star in the new movie RV) on her show last week. Martha usually asks her guests to help cook, bake, garden or do crafts. On this particular show, she and Kristin made Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies.

Kristin is a petite person and she needed an apple box to stand on to reach the worktable. I was amused as she moved around the apple box with her as she helped Martha bake. “Kitchens are not built for short people,” she said.

I can only agree.

I am also a petite person and I keep a step stool in a corner of our kitchen. This blue Rubbermaid product has been a permanent fixture in our kitchen. The kids use it to reach the sink when they wash the dishes. But I am the one who uses it the most.

I use it when I put away food and dishes in the cupboards. I use it when I need to get same food and dishes from the cupboards. I use it to open the window in the morning. I use it to close the window and draw the blinds down at night. I use it when I cook pancit (fried noodles) in the large wok or when I boil pasta in the deep pots. I use it when I mix ingredients for cookies. I use it because I am a short person and kitchens are not built for short people.

The other night, I googled Kristin Chenoweth and found out that she is also a Broadway star and a Tony winner. I also learned that when she was twelve, she performed a song called, “I’m Four-Foot Eleven and I’m Going to Heaven.” That is a title that’s also appropriate for me (I hope the last part, too). Now, if I could only find the lyrics of that song.

May 15, 2006 - Posted by | Books, movies, music, TV, Roadblocks

11 Comments »

  1. These are the 10 comments from the original entry on Blogspot:

    domestic rat said…
    Haha… how apt! I'm facing this problem as I'm renovating our home and seriously considering lowering the kitchen tabletop and the dish storage-cum-drainage cabinet for my convenience.

    5/04/2006 12:17:13 AM

    earthember said…
    I don't usually need the stool in the kitchen, unless I need to reach for stuff at the top of the cabinet. Being the lazy me, I would climb up onto the countertop to reach the top… haha. It reminds me of climbing up trees when I was a kid. I love "monkeying" around sometimes.

    5/04/2006 01:03:33 PM

    niceheart said…
    Ha ha, the woes of us short people. You know what Ange, I also climb up onto the countertop, and I still need my stool to do that. DR, won't your kitchen look like a playhouse if the tabletops were low? :)

    5/04/2006 11:30:47 PM

    Toe said…
    Haha! I have that footstool too… very useful around the house. When I'm too lazy though, I just ask hubby to hand me things from the top cupboards. :)

    5/04/2006 11:59:27 PM

    Senor Enrique said…
    Your post reminds me of two things:

    1) Alan Watts, a scholar and proponent of Zen philosophy in the States, once argued that the kitchen ought to be be deemed the most important room in the house since our nourishments/meals are prepared in there.

    2) I believe it was in Discovery Channel where they featured a culinary school in China which requires their applicants to be of a certain height so as to be physically comfortable with the height of the work tables, sinks, stoves, and etc.

    5/05/2006 05:50:35 AM

    bing said…
    the woes of short people! i am beginning to believe that height is an advantage.

    5/05/2006 08:43:44 AM

    Ann said…
    I remember seeing GMA during her meeting with the cabinet members. She has this special presidential chair, a little bit higher than a normal one.

    5/05/2006 12:40:18 PM

    niceheart said…
    Bing, I think height and the lack thereof both have their own advantages and disadvantages. Right, Toe? ;)

    So you see, Eric? That requirement in that Chinese school just proves that kitchens are indeed not built for short people. :)

    The president has a custom-made chair, Ann?

    5/05/2006 11:04:43 PM

    Ann said…
    Yes! I can't remember the title of the show but it was featured in tfc.

    5/06/2006 04:07:39 AM

    Hsin said…
    I don't need a stepstool because (a) I don't have that much stuff in the kitchen, so I don't use the high shelves much (b) Danny is tall enough to take down and put up the occasional thing I stuff up there.

    5/09/2006 01:39:30 AM

    Comment by niceheart | May 15, 2006 | Reply

  2. kristin chenoweth

    Interesting post. I came across this blog by accident, but it was a good accident. I have now bookmarked your blog for future use. Best wishes. Kristin Chenoweth.

    Trackback by Kristin Chenoweth | October 3, 2006 | Reply

  3. Wow, hello Kristin Chenoweth! Boy am I glad that you stumbled upon my blog. I never would have thought that a Broadway and Hollywood celebrity would come across my humble blog and leave a comment. Looking forward to your future visits. :) Thanks.

    Comment by niceheart | October 3, 2006 | Reply

  4. How about that Nice! Now we have BOTH learned on a personal level that Kristin is just like the rest of us, a normal down-to-earth person who happens to be beautiful and talented! As you know, I’ve been a die-hard fan since I had the privilege of bumping into her just after 9/11 in one of the long lines outside of an LAX airline terminal. I wish all stars were as humble and approachable.

    Comment by phil | October 3, 2006 | Reply

  5. She does seem to be a very nice and down-to-earth person, Phil. I’ll write down here the link to that post you wrote about her. You never know, she might check in again. :)

    http://philippinesphil.blogspot.com/2006/10/kristin-chenoweth-oh-yeah-we-talked.html

    Comment by niceheart | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  6. No one seemed to leave you the lyrics.. The part Ive heard her sing is really short.. I’m sure there are more.. but it goes

    “I’m only 4 foot 11 and I’m going to heaven
    and that makes me feel 10 feet tall.
    They say I’m not that strong,
    But I knew along He had the greatest power of all.
    He lifts me up..
    makes me shout..
    Oh come to Jesus
    That’s what Im all about

    I’m only 4 foot 11 but Im going to heaven
    And it makes me feel 10 feet tall!”

    Hope that helped!

    Comment by Amy | February 10, 2007 | Reply

  7. Thank you very much for the lyrics, Amy. :) It seems that not a lot of people have heard the song.

    Comment by niceheart | February 10, 2007 | Reply

  8. [...] And so I thought I’d go stand up on the bed and take a peek.  But what was I thinking?  I’m under five feet and even if I stood up on the bed, I couldn’t look through that part of the window.  But as [...]

    Pingback by The Bed « Journey to Honeyville | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. Get kitchen designinformation here.

    Comment by Kitchen design | January 21, 2008 | Reply

  10. I always have to ask my husband to get things for me off the top shelves at home and in shops because of my height. Did you find the lyrics in the end?

    Comment by Hertfordshire Plumbing | November 11, 2010 | Reply

    • Amy, from the comments above, was kind enough to share some of the lyrics. :)

      Comment by niceheart | November 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

