Why are men such big babies?

April 11, 2006 at 11:13 pm 11 comments

Our local stations are running a commercial of the Dairy Queen Dream Pie Blizzard Treat. Here’s the scene. Mr. Lee and the pregnant missus are sharing the Dream Pie. Mr. Lee takes a bite and dreams about having a baby boy announced when the missus delivers. Then back to reality. It is Mrs. Lee’s turn to take a spoon of the Blizzard Treat. In her dream, it is Mr. Lee who’s on the table about to pop up the baby. Mrs. Lee is holding the video camera and Mr. Lee gets mad at her, “You did this to me.” Now, that is my kind of dream.

Have you ever wondered what it would be like if it is the man who gets pregnant and carries the baby?

On the “Ask an expert” segment of Balance with Dr. Marla Shapiro the other day, the question was: Do women feel more pain than men? Answer: Not necessarily. But women can put up with more pain because they suffer more pain. Women get menstrual cramps and they give birth. They are used to the pain.

Sometimes I get annoyed when my husband takes a week off from work because of a cold. I know, I’m bad. But he can be such a big baby when he’s sick. I get sick and I can still manage to work. Okay, that’s because I work at home. But still, when I’m sick, I can’t lie down and stay in bed. I still have to get up, help the kids get ready for school, feed them, or attend to their needs and still do the chores. When the husband is sick, he grumbles and stays in bed all day. Or lies on the couch and watches TV or sits infront of the computer for hours. Oh wait, I think he does these too even when he’s not sick. Now, can you blame me if I get irritated?

If it was turned around and the man is the one who gives birth, do you think they wouldn’t be such big babies?

Entry filed under: Roadblocks. Tags: .

The Box of Peace Colours Reconnecting and Healing

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bing  |  April 12, 2006 at 11:26 am

    almost the same questions i have in mind! God should have given them their fair share of pain.

    Reply
  • 2. TK  |  April 14, 2006 at 12:21 am

    check out this blog entry entitled “Last Night” about husbands wanting to trade places with their wives.

    http://www.mayalacar.blogspot.com

    talk about a “raw deal.”

    Reply
  • 3. domestic rat  |  April 14, 2006 at 5:25 am

    I think women just have a higher threshold for pain. Unlike your hubby, MM pushes himself to work even when he’s sick but yet he cannot withstand Thai massages! So I can’t understand men sometimes.

    Reply
  • 4. BW  |  April 14, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    Common problem with marriage. That’s what happens when man and woman vie to the title of leader of the house. Maybe we really ought to have job descriptions at home ! It is not fun for one person to bear the brunt of it all. It also doesn’t mean that if you make the higher income, you ought to bossing around everbody.

    Reply
  • 5. niceheart  |  April 14, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    Bing, it’s not that I think men don’t have their fair share of pain, perhaps not physical but other forms of pain. I’m just teasing here and venting a little. :)

    TK, I have read that entry in an email before. There was an Oprah show, or was it a Dr. Phil show, where a couple of husbands traded places with their wives. Of course, in the end, the husbands realized that their wives have a very demanding “work” at home.

    DR, men and women are just so different that it’s really hard to understand each other.

    BW, I agree that you shouldn’t feel superior if you have the higher income. About job descriptions, I think we have been so used to the notion that it should be the woman who should be the homemaker and caretaker of all, but with the changing times and women also entering the work force, men should also realize that they should have their fair share of duties at home. Of course, I’m not referring to all men. My husband does help around the house when he’s not sick. I’d just want him to help more than what he usually does. :)

    Reply
  • 6. Ann  |  April 15, 2006 at 7:22 am

    I still remember, 2 days after I gave birth with my youngest son, my hubby had a fever. When friends come to visit they thought he was the one who came from the hospital..hehehe. He was the one sleeping on the bed.

    Reply
  • 7. Lord Vader  |  April 18, 2006 at 9:12 am

    Aww, women have it soo bad and men have it soo good cry? Why can’t men have babies rant :)

    Well you know you love that sensitive part of men. Enjoy when a man shows the vulnerable side of himself. He’s making up for all that time he has to stay STRONG for his woman :)

    Suby

    P.s
    Yup, spoiling for a fight with all the women out there :)

    Reply
  • 8. Sidney  |  April 19, 2006 at 7:04 am

    Well, it is nice that men and women are different ! ;-)

    Reply
  • 9. Anna  |  February 9, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Ughhh, my husband is driving me crazy today!!! He has a really painful ear infection and he won’t stop moaning. How does moaning out loud help with the pain, I ask you??? I took the big baby to the doc this morning and picked up his meds from the pharmacy so now he’s on antibiotics and prescription pain killers. Can’t he just suck it up and wait quietly for it to stop hurting?? I didn’t make that much noise while giving birth! I wish he would just fall asleep for a few hours and shut up.

    Reply
  • 10. Morganna  |  August 24, 2011 at 5:03 am

    OK

    A man here.

    So why can’t women control their BMI?

    There IS a difference between attractively Rubinesque and offenciffly obese!

    Luv’n’stuff

    Morganna

    Reply
  • 11. tndcallphilippines  |  October 3, 2011 at 2:09 am

    maybe because they were babied by their mothers – they expect this is the way to be even when married with children! women werent babied much by their mothers i think. Mothers expect more from their daughters. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet!

  • it's now jul 4 & only now did driver notice that i'm still using a jun buspass. i forgot. i wasn't trying to get a free ride.tweeted 1 month ago
  • my first blog post, after 3 years. niceheart.wordpress.comtweeted 1 month ago
  • my panganay turns 24 today. parang kelan lang i was 24 when i had him. but lets not tell him. he might get the wrong msg. :)tweeted 9 months ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

